Cat Tracks Online Newsletter

Three Local Students Awarded Lippitt Scholarships to EGSC

Three Local Students Awarded Lippitt Scholarships to EGSC

by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | August 13, 2014
Last Edited: September 23, 2014 by Norma Kennedy
Three Local Students Awarded Lippitt Scholarships to EGSC

Three Local Students Awarded Lippitt Scholarships to EGSC

    Hillary Anna Davis, Lisa Faith Gambrell, and Callie Jade Thompson have been awarded Devereux H. Lippitt, Jr. Leadership Scholarships for fall 2014 to East Georgia State College for outstanding academic and leadership achievements while in high school.

   The Devereux H. Lippitt, Jr. Leadership Scholarship was created in 1996 by Mrs. Betty G. Holland (formerly Mrs. Lippitt) as a memorial to the late Mr. Lippitt, a former resident of Twin City in the late 1940's and early 1950's, and her parents, General Philip S. Gage and Mrs. Irene Toll Gage. General Gage was a graduate of West Point and was a career army officer, with service during World War I and II. Supported by the Philip and Irene Toll Gage Foundation, the annual scholarship is awarded to a deserving student on the basis of outstanding achievement and leadership.

   The daughter of Paula and Daniel Davis of Vidalia, Hillary Davis is 2014 honor graduate of Montgomery County High School. She plans to pursue a degree in Pre-Law. At MCHS, Davis served as vice president of FBLA, on the leadership team of FCCLA, president of Student Council/Student Body, BETA Club, and achieved perfect attendance status. She also served on the Georgia Math League, Toombs/Montgomery Youth Leadership Team, and earned the Academic Honors Award.

   "I am excited about attending East Georgia State College and feel the small is a wonderful trait because it allows me and other students to be able to create many lasting relationships with many different students and professors," added Davis.

   A 2014 honor graduate of Swainsboro High School, Lisa Faith Gambrell of Midville is the daughter of Marsha Gambrell. She plans to pursue a degree in paralegal studies. At SHS, Gambrell served in FBLA, FCA, BETA Club, SHS Football Cheerleader, and is a member of First Baptist Church of Swainsboro.

   "I am excited about my decision to begin at East Georgia State. It is a great college that is large enough to fulfill my educational requirements. I can live at home and save funds while pursuing my career goals," commented Gambrell.

   Jade Thompson, a 2015 honor graduate of Swainsboro High, is the daughter of Sandie and Hubert Lynn Thompson of Swainsboro. Thompson plans to pursue a degree in pharmacy. A SHS, she was a member of BETA, FBLA, FCCLA, Art Club, Competition Cheerleader, SHS Football Cheerleader, All-Region Cheerleader, UGA Merit Award, Citizen's Bank Student Advisory Board, and FCCLA Nationals 2nd Place Awardee. Thompson is presently attending EGSC through the ACCEL (jointly enrolled) Program.

   "East Georgia State College is the right college and right size for me. I plan to earn my associate's degree from EGSC. I have enjoyed my ACCEL experience," added Thompson.

   Local civic clubs, organizations, and individual donors in the area served by East Georgia State College make awards for scholarship purposes to the college on a yearly basis. Scholarships from these funds are awarded to students on the basis of high school achievement, college academic promise, and positions of leadership held while a high school student. Students interested in applying for a leadership scholarship should complete the Leadership Scholarship Application which may be obtained from a high school counselor or from EGSC's Office of Financial Aid beginning January 1st of each year and the application deadline is April 1st. For more information about applying for an East Georgia State College Scholarship, please call the EGSC Financial Office at 478-289-2009. For information about setting up a family or individual donor scholarship, please call Elizabeth Gilmer at 478-289-2037.