Cat Tracks Online Newsletter

Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony 2014 at EGSC

Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony 2014 at EGSC

by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | November 13, 2014
Last Edited: January 05, 2015 by Norma Kennedy
Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony 2014 at EGSC

East Georgia State College's Honor Society, Beta Iota Beta, held its induction ceremony, Tuesday evening, November 4, at 6:00 p.m. in the Sudie A. Fulford Community Learning Center at East Georgia State College. Beta Iota Beta is the college's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society.

The welcoming of the students and guests to the college and ceremony  was made by PTK (EGSC Swainsboro campus) faculty advisor, Jessica Palumbo. Induction of the new members was given by Lucas Frink (PTK President) and Amber McNure  (PTK Secretary). They next moved to the lighting of the candles, reciting of the membership oath, and the signing of the chapter roster.

The presentation of PTK certificates was made by EGSC’s Vice President for Academic Affairs, Tim Goodman and EGSC Statesboro PTK Advisor Sandra Sharman. Closing remarks were given by Mrs. Palumbo. A reception, sponsored by Mrs. Palumbo and Dr. Sharman was held to honor the new members and their families.

   The new student members for this year are James Akins, Brandi Camacho, Joshua Clifton, Hillary Davis, Alyse Deen, Tara Egan, Austin Fultz, Kayla Goins, James Good, Charles Gutzmer, Jessica Hadden, Shalisa Harswell, Crystal Hernandez, and Joshua Herndon. Other members include Gabrielle Hudson, Alexander Jacobs, Shekinah Newby, Brandon Page, Pelin Polat, Juan Rangel, Gregory Richard, Ivy Roberson, Precious Sogn, Sierra Syfrit, Jordan Thompson, and Macy Wiggins. 

  The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service. PTK also provides an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Pictured left to right (front) is  Amber McNure, Austin Fultz, Hilary Davis, Shekinah Newby, Tara Williams, Jessica Hadden, and Shalisa Harswell, Lucas Frink and in back Precious Sogn and Gabrielle Hudson.  Photo by Jerry Hooks.