Cat Tracks Online Newsletter

Annual recognition program held at EGSC

Annual recognition program held at EGSC

by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | August 13, 2020
Last Edited: October 05, 2020 by Harley Strickland
Annual recognition program held at EGSC

   Each year at East Georgia State College’s Fall Workshop, faculty and staff come together to meet about the upcoming school year. Due to COVID-19, the workshop was held virtually this year using Zoom. During the workshop, the annual Service Excellence Awards Program was held.

   During this program outstanding faculty and staff are acknowledged. Employees achieving service milestones are presented awards for their dedication and service. In addition, STAR Staff awards are presented to top staff members in each department and Distinguished Faculty awards are presented to top faculty members in each of the three academic schools.

   The first awards given out, the Service Milestone Awards, were for years of service. Jimmy Wedincamp was awarded the 20 years of service award.

   Thomas Caiazzo and Christi Hutchings were awarded for serving the college for 15 years. 

   This year, seven people were recognized for their service the college for 10 years: Joseph Canady, Valerie Czerny, Jeffery Howell, Christian Kraus, Jean Schwabe, Breana Simmons and Angelia Williams.

   Also, twelve people were recognized for five years of service: James Beall, Sheila Bramlett, Denise Daniels, Ben Johnson, Robert Mullins, Gracie Richards, Alexander Smith, Astraea Thigpen, Harry Vogel, Mary Waalkes, Pauline Whitaker and Charles Wimberly.

   The next awards were the awards for STAR Staff of the Year and Distinguished Faculty Awards. The recipients of these awards were chosen by their department heads.

   In the STAR Staff of the Year category, 10 people were recognized. They were as follows: Norma Kennedy for the President’s Office, Gregory Avra for Information Technology, John Rincon for Plant Operations, Harley Strickland Smith for Institutional Advancement, Denise Daniels for Athletics, Gracie Richards for Business Affairs, Gloria Robinson for the EGSC-Statesboro campus, Rendell Cordova for the EGSC-Augusta campus, Theresa Davis for Academic Affairs and Veronica Cheers for Student Affairs.

   The next awards given out were the Distinguished Faculty Awards. The Distinguished Faculty of the Year Award is selected from exceptional faculty who show innovation in instruction, commitment to student success, and contribution to the mission and goals of the college.

   Mark Hovind and Walter Mason were recognized for the School of Humanities and Social Sciences. For the School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Patrice Pierce and Fang Xie were recognized.

   EGSC’s success as an access institution is strengthened by its dedicated faculty and staff, who are focused on helping every student achieve a college degree. EGSC would like to thank the faculty and staff for their hard work each year.