Cat Tracks Online Newsletter

40th Annual Honors Evening held at EGSC

40th Annual Honors Evening held at EGSC

by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | April 29, 2014
Last Edited: September 23, 2014 by Norma Kennedy
40th Annual Honors Evening held at EGSC

40th Annual Honors Ceremony Held at East Georgia State College

East Georgia State College, University System of Georgia, held the 40th Annual Honors Ceremony in the auditorium of the Luck Flanders Gambrell Center on Thursday evening, April 24. Hosted by Beta Iota Beta, EGSC's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, a full house was welcomed by Phi Theta Kappa President, Lucas Frink . PTK Secretary, Amber McNure, also greeted the guests.

The award presentations were made by East Georgia State College President, Bob Boehmer and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Tim Goodman.

The first award presented was the University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholar Award presented to Natalie Love by Senator Jack Hill. President Boehmer continued by presenting the All-Georgia Academic Team Awards to Benjamin Mimbs and Hannah Young.

The honor students next received special awards for outstanding academic achievements at EGSC from Dr. Goodman. They are:

Todd H. Anderson, Sierra R. Ansley, Caitlyn N. Baggett, Nancy N. Balcziunas, Lauren S. Buxton, Noelle L. Cann, Austin M. Carruth, Haley B. Chester, Steven D. Church, Dara D. Collins, Rebecca J. Fogarty, Bret A. Frazier, Lucas L. Frink, Austin S. Fultz, Krista A. Gay, Frances B. Henry, Shannon Higgs, Tyler P. Hooks, Kaytie A. Hughes, Anna R. Hutcheson, Courtney P. Hyatt, Keyry T. Jimenez Santana, Hayward B. Johnson, Laura K. Johnson, Brittany L. Joy, Vincent J. Lee, Nathanial K. Lewis, Natalie M. Love, Ryan P. Lynch, Jason B. Madigan, Todd T. May, Mary E. McDaniel, Amber G. McNure, Sarah M. Mercer, Lilah G. Miles, Benjamin P. Mimbs, Vanessa L. Morris, Megan S. Moseley, Ariel L. Newsom, Amanda L. Parker, Paige M. Paulson, Trey N. Payne, Jonathan T. Pendarvis, Levi A. Proctor, Alejandra S. Ramirez, Olivia T. Rigdon, Spencer W. Salter, Samantha L. Sasser, Julie V. Scott, Lindsay N. Smith, Bruce A. Tanner, Crystal J. Tisby, Christian V. Toole, Tyler D. Tripp, Thomas A. Waters, Asandrea A. Williams, Tiffany B. Yancey, and Hannah V. Young

Awards were presented to Jakerria M. Brown and Natalie M. Love as being the first (g2)2 graduates.

Benjamin Mimbs was awarded a certificate for first place entry in the 12th Annual Emily Pestana-Mason Memorial Poetry Contest.

The George Marvin Baker Award for Excellence in Biological Science was presented to Will Adams.

Awards in subject areas were presented by EGSC faculty. The students receiving these awards are: art – Dara Collins; biology –  Paula  Lanier; business administration and accounting – Olivia Rigdon; business administration and economics – Michael Oldham; chemistry – Hayward Johnson; computer science – Cesar Milla and James Thigpen; criminal justice – Aissia Mosley; English – Benjamin Mimbs; foreign language – Amber McNure; geology – Raven Hudson;  history – Nancy Balcziunas; mathematics – Natalie Love and Thomas Waters; political science – Nacharvius Byrd; sociology – Gretsy Blanche.

Student Athletic Awards were presented by EGSC Men’s Basketball Coach, Leroy Jordan to Michael Oldham and Blake Pulliam for highest academics in baseball; Deion Craig, men’s basketball; Tiara Baker, women’s basketball; and Danielle Rheaume, women’s softball.

Students receiving awards in leadership and service in campus activities were:  Halei Lamb, Amber McNure, and Benjamin Mimbs (editors) Wiregrass; Markeya Green (president), Art Club; Hayward Johnson (president), Baptist Collegiate Ministries; Jessica Shakirah Davis (co-captain), Bobcat Spirit and  Cheer Club; Aissia Mosley (president), Criminal Justice Club; Tyler Wilson, student ambassador, EGSC Ambassador Program; Akira Trawick,  International Club; Lucas Frink, (president), Phi Theta Kappa; Kenneth McClendon, Residence Hall Association; Amber McNure (president), Robert Feline Playmakers; Mariah Hill,( president), SIFE; and Austin Fultz (president), Student Government Association.

Following closing remarks by Lucas Frink, a reception honoring the students and their parents was held in the rotunda of the Gambrell Center.

East Georgia State College, a state college unit of the University System of Georgia, is fully accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097.