Science Olympiad competition to be held at EGSC

Science Olympiad competition to be held at EGSC

by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | January 29, 2020
Last Edited: February 15, 2020 by Mike Rountree
Science Olympiad competition to be held at EGSC

   East Georgia State College will host its eleventh Regional Division C Science Olympiad (grades 9 – 12) on Saturday, February 15 beginning at 8 a.m. Thirteen teams, with up to fifteen students per team, from nine high schools will compete in 23 different STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) events on EGSC’s Swainsboro campus.

   Schools represented include Glynn Academy High School (Glynn County), Richmond Hill High School (Bryan County), H.V. Jenkins High School (Chatham County), Southeast Bulloch High School (Bulloch County), Metter High School (Candler County), Rutland High School (Bibb County), Brookwood High School (Gwinnett County), Savannah Christian Preparatory School (Chatham County), and A.R. Johnson Health Science & Engineering Magnet School (Richmond County). Students will compete throughout the day in activities ranging from chemistry, biology, physics, engineering, astronomy, mathematics, geology and experimental design. An awards ceremony will be held in the Luck Flanders Gambrell Center Auditorium at the end of the day. The top three teams will go on to compete in the Georgia State Science Olympiad, which will be held at Emory University on Saturday, April 4.

   Founded in 1984, the Science Olympiad is one of the premier science competitions in the nation, providing rigorous, standards-based challenges to nearly 8,000 teams in all 50 states.  There are three competing divisions: Division A (grades K-6), Division B (grades 6-9), and Division C (grades 9-12).  East Georgia State College is one of eight sites in Georgia hosting a Division C tournament.  The Science Olympiad tournaments are rigorous academic interscholastic competitions designed to elevate students’ mathematical and scientific abilities. Students first compete in regional tournaments, with top teams going on to state competitions, followed by national competition. Students and teams receive recognition for the achievements in the form of certificates, ribbons, medals and trophies.