EGSC holds Virtual Honors Night Program

EGSC holds Virtual Honors Night Program

by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | April 16, 2020
Last Edited: April 29, 2020 by Katelyn Moore
EGSC holds Virtual Honors Night Program

On Thursday, April 16, East Georgia State College held their annual Spring Honors Night in a virtual ceremony. A watch party was held on Facebook, on the EGSC website and other social media platforms. Students from each academic area and campus activity were honored, and special recognitions were presented.

   EGSC President Dr. Bob Boehmer welcomed viewers to the Digital Presentation, stating “This is one of my favorite days of each academic year,” he said. “It is both exciting and an honor for me, Dr. Sharman, our VP for Academic and Student Affairs; and each of our outstanding faculty and staff to be able to individually and personally recognize the academic and service achievements of these outstanding scholars and to be able to say thank you to all of their supporters for the many things that you have done for these outstanding students along the way.

   “We, of course, wish we could all be together in the Luck Flanders Gambrell Auditorium,” he continued. “We cannot wait for your return. Please hear our message, even though it is delivered virtually: each of you is important to us. You are why we get up each morning. We are deeply proud of you. Congratulations.”
   Dr. Boehmer continued by announcing the first award, the University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholar Award. Susanna Hall, a student pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Biology degree, was announced as the recipient of the prestigious award.  

   This year, the Subject Area Awards were presented in tandem with the Leadership and Service in Campus Activities Awards, and were presented as follows: Professor Desmal Purcell presented the Art Mania Club award to Brian Martinez and the Excellence in Arts Award to Hannah Oglesby; Professor Antré Drummer presented the African-American Male Initiative (AAMI) Award to Duranté Payne and the Excellence in Mathematics Award to Anita Cerpovicz; Dr. John Cadle presented the Excellence in Biology Award – Associate Level to Christian Byrd and Giavaun Young; Dr. David Chevalier presented the George Marvin Baker Award for Excellence in Biological Science to Susanna Hall; Professor Natasha Goss presented the Excellence in Business Administration Award to Kerri Close; Dr. Alan Brasher presented the 18th Annual Emily Pestana-Mason Memorial Poetry Contest first place award to Shedeenah McCleary, the Excellence in English Award to Taryn Jackson, and the Book Club Award to Susannah Hall; Dr. Brittany Strickland presented the Criminal Justice Club Award to Ahjoi C. Apparicio and the Excellence in Criminal Justice Award to Rachelle Johnson; Dr. Tim Goodman presented the Circle K Club Award to Breana Librizzi; Dr. Paul Cerpovicz presented the Excellence in Chemistry Award to Susanna Hall, the STEMMEGA Club Award to Tanner Peebles and the Bobcat Beekeeping Club Award to Bryan Martinez; Professor Ron Ellison presented the Robert Feline Playmakers Award to Alex Smith and the Excellence in Communication Arts Award to Asia Jennings; Princess Middleton presented the Rhythm Nation Dance Team award to Markayla Grier; Professor Beverley Walker presented the Excellence in Fire and Emergency Services Administration – Associate Level Award to Tyler Johnson and the Excellence in Fire and Emergency Services Administration – Bachelor Level Award to Quinton Houston; Jim Beall presented the Chess Club Award to Jamel Sutton and the Geeks and Games Club Award to Alex Smith; Professor Courtney Joiner presented the Excellence in History Award for Swainsboro to Griffin Beall; Dr. Reid Derr presented the Excellence in History Award for Statesboro to Katherine Leach; Professor Darlene Dickens presented the Excellence in Nursing Transfer Pathway in General Studies Award to Kaitlin Cooper; Professor Martha Anders presented the Excellence in Nursing (RN-BSN) Award to Stacey Clifton; Stacey Grant presented the EGSC Ambassador Program Award to La’Tia Berry and the International Club Award to Joy Richardson; Professor Brett Larson presented the Excellence in Political Science Award to Asia Jennings; Coleman Bailey presented the Residence Hall Association award to Andrew Lester; Stacey Grant presented the Student Government Awards to Megan Bryant, Kathryn Cox and Bruce Bass, Jr.; Tiera Williams presented the Unity Club Award to Lisa Thompson; Denise Daniels presented the VETS Club Award to Jack Palmer; and Professor Christian Kraus presented the Wiregrass Award to Rebecca Ferron and the Hoopee Bird Awards to Kayla Portillo for Augusta, Rebecca Ferron for Statesboro and Kelsey Sellers for Swainsboro.

   Athletic Director Chuck Wimberly presented the Student Athletics Awards as follows: Baseball to pitcher Jasper Dubberly; Women’s Basketball to guard Charlsey Kelly; Softball to Reese Stalvey; and Men’s Basketball to guard Preston Crisp.

   Dr. Sandra Sharman, the Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs, then read the names of the students on the Dean’s list. The following students were named on the list: Benjamin Allen, Griffin Beall, MaryRuth Berry, Anita Cerpovicz, Douglas Chesser, Kaitlin Cooper, Jazzmyn Cox, Citlalli Excamilla, Caroline Freemen, Jessica Guadagno, Brandon Harrelson, Jaylon Kelly, Tyronica Kelsey, Bertha King, Olivia Laird, Katherine Leach, Shakale Lewis, Caitlyn Miles, Faith Miners, Abigail Oliver, Asharra Osborne, Lorah Parrish, Jeffery Potter, Thomas Robinson, Dustin Rogers, Kelsey Sellers, Reese Stalvey, Misaiah Taylor, Courtney Terwilliger, Madison VanDyke, Cullen Wake, Caitlin Waters, Wilhelmina Watkins, Jeffrey Wiginton, William Wikes, De'Asihas Williams and Summer Williams.

   Professor Courtney Joiner closed out the ceremony, saying, “The fact that we’re doing it this way does not in any way diminish the pride that we have in you and your accomplishments—these awards are well-deserved. If you’re coming back to us in Summer and Fall, we so look forward to seeing you. If you’re graduating, we wish you the very best of luck in all your endeavors and we hope that you will always remember that you have a home here at East Georgia State College.”

   If you missed the Virtual Awards Ceremony, visit The Honors Night video, along with the digital program with timestamps for each award, is located on the page.