EGSC holds Spring Honors Night

EGSC holds Spring Honors Night

by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | April 28, 2016
Last Edited: September 01, 2016 by Norma Kennedy
EGSC holds Spring Honors Night

   On Thursday, April 21, 2016, East Georgia State College held their annual Spring Honors Night in the auditorium of the Luck Flanders Gambrell Building.
   William Rudy Kaht IV, President of Phi Theta Kappa at EGSC, welcomed guests, and Xaishia Sutton, Student Ambassador, led the Pledge of Allegiance.
   EGSC President Dr. Bob Boehmer then presented Special Recognition Awards. With the help of Senator Jack Hill, he presented the University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholar Award to Kelli Lane Kirby. He then recognized the All-Georgia Academic Team, consisting of Hillary Davis, Rudy Kaht, and Damon Knighten.
   Dr. Tim Goodman, Vice President for Academic Affairs, then presented awards to the Annual Dean’s List students. They were: Marah J. Adams, Ayla S. Amos, Tapeka L. Arnett, Haleigh N. Baker, Saralan B. Beasley, Dana M. Bedgood, Maggie L. Bell, Shazorierier J. Betts, Kayla S. Bridges, William B. Broucek, Derek C. Brown, Kaitlin N. Bruce, Brittany P. Cabrol, Reagan A. Carter, Krysta D. Castellano, Cierra L. Clark, Jodie L. Cobb, Caitlan E. Coleman, Brianna N. Cone, Shaina I. Cooper, Heather R. Correll, Ashlyn C. Coto, Dalton L. Davis, Hillary A. Davis, Ruby E. DeRouen, Elizabeth A. Dobson, Etta L. Duncan, Samantha J. Evans, Ashley M. Francis, A'Ryan L. Gardner, Tynecia C. Garnett, Jaclyn K. Gibson, Orlando A. Gray, Kimberly Hamilton, Jarret T. Henry, Sky T. Herndon, Courtney A. Hewitt, Kayla M. Hewitt, Justin M. Holland, Chayla A. Jackson, Jeffrey C. Jackson, Megan J. Johnson, Allyson H. Jones, William R. Kaht IV, Kelli L. Kirby, Damon O. Knighten, Joseph M. Lane, Kyungeun Lee, Long N. Lieu, James E. Mack, Patrick A. Mack, Britne M. McDuffie, Rebekah L. Mock, Seth E. Morgan, Kenyetta M. Nesbitt, Brooke A. Nusall, Brandon B. Page, April D. Parham, Kristi E. Patterson, Petagay A. Patterson, Kelly E. Peel, Graciela Pina, Sara R. Pollex, Barrett D. Pritchard, Christine A. Ray, Lauren A. Ray, Stephanie M. Rice, Gregory A. Richard, Ivy J. Roberson, Jordan A. Robins, Briunna L. Robinson, Rebecca L. Royal, Riviera D. Selph, Steele W. Shull, Caitlin A. Smith, William C. Stanfield, Andrew S. Stocker, Jacob D. Stone, Precious K. Swinney, Sierra H. Syfrit, Roikiesha Q. Tennant, Kelsey L. Thigpen, Callie J. Thompson, Jacob B. Thompson, Dakota L. Turner, Samantha A. Van Dyke, Railey C. Waddell, Forrest B. Walsh, Arielle R. Williamson, Daniel A. Young and Sydney T. Young.
   Naomi and Becky Mason presented the 14th annual Emily Pestana-Mason Memorial Poetry Contest Award to Sequoia T. Sinclair. Dr. Jimmy Wedincamp, Dean of the School of Math and Natural Sciences, then presented the George Marvin Baker Award for Excellence in Biological Science to Dana Michelle Bedgood.
   Subject area awards were presented to the following: Art to Tiffany C. Kokotis, Biology to Brian Scott Westberry, Business Administration and Accounting and Business Administration and Economics to Jordan A. Robins, Chemistry to Hailey Rials, Criminal Justice to Akeyla Sharpe, Foreign Language to DeAnndra Dixon, History to Marah J. Adams, Mathematics to Allyson H. Jones, Physics to William Scott Irvin and A’Ryan L. Gardner, Political Science to Caitlan E. Coleman, Psychology to Leah N. Rush and Teacher Education to Jessica M. McCord.
   Student athletics awards were then presented by coaches. Baseball went to Benjamin Jacob Testin, Men’s Basketball to Sayvon Wilson, Women’s Basketball to Shadae Tate and Softball to Railey Waddell.
   Leadership and Service in Campus Activities Awards were presented to the following: Wiregrass to Harry G. Dukes and Ashley M. Francis, Editors; Hoopee Bird to Ashley M. Francis and Corey Higgins, Staff Writers; Phi Theta Kappa to William Rudy Kaht IV, President; AAMI to Harry G. Dukes, Member; Art Club to Celeste Rodriguez-Teran, President, and Danielle Johnson, Vice President; EGSC Ambassador Program to William Rudy Kaht IV, Ambassador; Student Government Association to Barrett Dent Pritchard, Sophomore Senator; Residence Hall Association to Darrow Frasher, Member; Phi Beta Lambda to Xaishia Sutton, President; Bobcat Spirit and Cheer Club to Briunna Robinson, Captain; Criminal Justice Club to Akeyla Sharpe, President; Robert Feline Playmakers to Joshua A. Martin, President; Baptist Collegiate Ministries to Haylee Harrison Greene, President; SPAGE to Deven White, Member; STEMMEGA Club to Barrett Dent Pritchard, Member; and a special presentation from the CHOICE Program Mentors to Theresa Renew Davis, Director.
   Closing remarks were given by Kimberly Hamilton, Secretary of Phi Theta Kappa, and guests enjoyed a reception on the Gambrell Building patio. Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees!

More Information