EGSC employees honored at annual recognition program

EGSC employees honored at annual recognition program

by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | August 09, 2019
Last Edited: August 26, 2019 by Harley Strickland
EGSC employees honored at annual recognition program

   Each year at East Georgia State College’s Fall Workshop, faculty and staff come together to meet about the upcoming school year. During that workshop, the annual Service Excellence Awards Program is held.

   At the Service Excellence Awards event, outstanding faculty and staff were acknowledged. Employees achieving service milestones were presented awards for their dedication and service. In addition, STAR Staff awards were presented to top staff members in each department and Distinguished Faculty awards were presented to top faculty members in each of the three academic schools.

   The first awards given out, the Service Milestone Awards, were for years of service. Melvin Nunn was awarded the 20 years of service award.

This year, three people were recognized for their service the college for 15 years: Ty Fagler, Robert Marsh, and Johnna Eaton.

David Altamirano and Daniel Mancill have both served the college for 10 years.  

 Also, twelve people were recognized for five years of service: Charlene Blankenship, Susan Bragg, Shayla Brown, Dr. H. Lee Cheek, Dr. David Chevalier, Steven Clark, Dr. Ren Denton, Amber Hirschy, Treva Johnson, Nick Kelch, Jason Lee and Robert Nordan.

   The next awards were the awards for STAR Staff of the Year and Distinguished Faculty Awards. The recipients of these awards were chosen by their department heads. Tracy Woods, Director of Human Resources, introduced the awards, saying, “The annual award recognizes staff with exceptional service, teamwork, attitude, and reliability.”

   In the STAR Staff of the Year category, 11 people were recognized. They were as follows: David Gribbin for the President’s Office, Steven Clark for Information Technology, Willie Freeman for Plant Operations, Jean Schwabe for Institutional Advancement, Daniel McCoy for the EGSC Police Department, Coach Warren Goosby for Athletics, Michelle Goff for Business Affairs, Karen Murphree for the EGSC-Statesboro campus, Dr. Deborah Kittrell-Mikell for the EGSC-Augusta campus, and both Brandy Murphy and Jennifer Fields for the Academic and Student Affairs Office.

   Before announcing the distinguished faculty, Tracy Woods explained how the faculty make a big impact on students and their futures.

   “The Distinguished Faculty of the Year Award is selected from exceptional faculty who show innovation in instruction, commitment to student success, and contribution to the mission and goals of the college,” said Woods. “They also consider professional achievement and commitment to diversity.”  

   Sebastian Verdis and Natasha Goss were recognized for the School of Humanities and Social Sciences. For the School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Dr. Paul Cerpovicz and Jing Kersey were recognized.

   EGSC’s success as an access institution is strengthened by its dedicated faculty and staff, who are focused on helping every student achieve a college degree. EGSC would like to thank the faculty and staff for their hard work each year.