DeedClaim Access to Justice Scholarship

DeedClaim Access to Justice Scholarship

by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) | December 14, 2018
Last Edited: December 14, 2018 by Victor Poole

The DeedClaim Access to Justice Scholarship is awarded annually to current or prospective college students or law students (including LL.M. students) that attend or plan to attend accredited American universities and law schools. The $1,000 scholarship will be awarded to a student to help support his or her educational endeavors. Funds must be used to pay for qualified expenses, including tuition, books, and on-campus room and board for the academic year.

Applications will be awarded based on an original essay of 1,000 to 2,000 words. The applicant may choose any one of the two following topics:

  • Recent Legal Developments Increasing Access to Legal Assistance (for example, the California legislature’s recent adoption of transfer-on-death deeds to allow self-represented individuals to avoid probate without hiring an attorney)
  • Technological Innovations that Lower the Cost of Legal Services (for example, the use of automated document assembly software to allow spouses to divide real estate following a divorce without hiring an attorney)

The essay should give specific examples to illustrate how the development or innovation can make the legal system more accessible to the public.

Submissions will be evaluated based on the originality of the essay and clarity in writing. All submissions must be original and authorized by the application. The applicant must ensure that the submission does not include any copyrighted material or otherwise infringe the rights of any third party.

The winner will be notified by e-mail using the e-mail address provided in the submission form. If the winner fails to respond to the notification within seven business days, the winner’s prize will be forfeited and a new winner will be selected.

Application Eligibility

In order to participate in the contest, prospective applicants must be currently enrolled in an accredited United States college or university or planning to attend one in the upcoming semester.

  • Students applying as undergraduates must be a graduating senior in high school or enrolled in college. In addition to four-year university, the scholarship is available to students in community colleges, professional colleges, or graduate degree programs.
  • Students applying as law students must be a graduating senior in their undergraduate degree program and have already been accepted into at least one law school that is accredited by the American Bar Association. For students that are already in a Juris Doctor program, admission to an LL.M. program is required.

DeedClaim reserves the right to verify the date of high school or college graduation as a condition of the award. To prevent conflict of interest, immediate family members of DeedClaim staff are ineligible to apply. Applications under the age of 18 must have permission from a parent or legal guardian.

Application Deadline

The next application deadline is June15, 2019. Essays must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. EST. The winner will be announced on or around July 1, 2019.

More Information

DISCLAIMER: The scholarship listed on this page is not affiliated with East Georgia State College and does not constitute endorsement by EGSC of the scholarship being offered or any organizations mentioned. Scholarships listed are for informational purposes only. It is the student’s responsibility to verify all information related to the scholarship application, including any requirements and related deadlines.