Search

Library Policy: Community Borrower

Who can borrow?

Individuals from surrounding communities who are not currently enrolled students or current employees at East Georgia State College may apply for Community Borrowing privileges. Borrowers must be at least 18 years of age to apply without the signature of a parent or guardian. Minors must have a parent or guardian present who is at least 18 years of age to sign the borrowing permit.

How do I apply?

Individuals who want to apply to be a Community Borrower should come to the Circulation desk at East Georgia State College Library. To become a Community Borrower, you must provide one of the following:

  • a current, valid Georgia Driver’s License with current address,
  • a current, valid Georgia state identification card with current address,
  • another type of photo identification, such as a passport, driver’s license from another state, or student ID card, plus a utility bill or lease agreement with the applicant’s current address.

Photocopied identification is not acceptable.

What can I check out?

Community borrowers may check out books and media items.  We ask that borrowers respect our materials. Borrowers must follow current copyright laws as they apply to East Georgia State College Library.

How can I find items that I am looking for?

If you know what type of item you are looking for, or you have a title in mind, you can simply go online to https://gil.ega.edu/. Type in the search box, Keyword search or exact search to find the items you are looking for. Make sure the Title, Author and Subject are spelled correctly. If you need assistance please ask. When you have found a book in the GIL database, print or write down the call number and we can help you find the item in our library.

Where can I find the due date?

The due date will be listed on a printed form showing receipt of your checkout and should be placed inside the front cover of your book. The borrower is responsible for contacting EGSC Library Staff to find out the due date if the form showing the due date has been lost or removed. The patron is responsible for items borrowed and all fees that may apply.

How long can I check out the items?

Books may be checked out for a 2 week period, but may be brought back to the Circulation Desk to be renewed or recharged to the patron. Media items may be checked out for a 14 day period. After the items have reached the due date, they will be considered overdue or lost and charges may apply.

How much will I owe for overdue items?

Books and media materials are considered overdue on the date given at the time of checkout. Overdue charges accrue on the date immediately following the due date of the material or item, but not on National Holidays or East Georgia State College Holidays. The standard rate for overdue items is 10 cents each day the material or item is not returned.

How will I return the item?

Items can be returned to the library directly at the Circulation desk of the Library. Books can be returned in the Library Book Drop located outside of the Luck Flanders Gambrel Center beside the flag pole. Media items must be returned to the Library Circulation desk during hours of operation.

What if I lose an item?

If you think that you may have lost an item that you have borrowed, please let us know as soon as possible. Library staff can offer helpful tips on finding lost books, as well as helping you through the return process. When items are not returned, the patron who lost the item must pay the replacement, processing, and overdue fees, or replace the item. We are willing to work with our patrons to recover lost items, but we expect honesty and cooperation.

What are the Library’s hours of operation?

The East Georgia State College Library is open to the public Monday through Thursday from 7:45 AM - 7:30 PM and on Friday from 7:45 AM - 5:00 PM; please check our calendar online for updates at http://ega.libguides.com/index.php.

Thank you for borrowing!

East Georgia State College Library Staff