Phi Theta Kappa Induction held April 1

Phi Theta Kappa Induction held April 1

by Elizabeth Gilmer | April 03, 2013
Last Edited: August 27, 2013 by Elizabeth Gilmer
Phi Theta Kappa Induction held April 1

Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony 2013 at EGSC


East Georgia State College's Honor Society, Beta Iota Beta, held its induction ceremony, Monday evening, April 1, at 6:30 p.m. in the Sudie A. Fulford Community Learning Center at East Georgia State College. Beta Iota Beta is the college's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society.

The ceremony introductions were made by PTK faculty advisor Jessica Palumbo. Dr. Robert Boehmer, president of East Georgia State College, welcomed the students and guests to the College.

Julie Scott, PTK Vice President introduced the program speaker, Amelia Simmons, instructor of English at EGSC.

The introduction of the new members was given by Haley Chester, PTK president and Julie Scott, PTK vice president. Dr. Boehmer and Mrs. Palumbo presented the membership certificates. The ceremony continued with the lighting of the candles by the new student members, reciting of the membership oath, and signing of the chapter roster. Closing remarks were given by Mrs. Palumbo, in Dr. Sandra Sharman’s absence. A reception, sponsored by Mrs. Palumbo and Dr. Sharman was held to honor the new members and their families.

            The new student members are Candace Altman, Nancy Balcziunas, Eric Burch, Lauren Buxton, Christy Carter, Katheryn Chumley, Edna Davalos, Chelsea Faircloth, Krista Gay, Haley Grace, Wendy Grimes, Victoria Harris, Jasmine Hatch, Shannon Higgs, Tyler Hooks, Anna Hutcheson, Jennifer Lamb, Cody Laurence, Elizabeth Marshall, Vanessa Morris, Megan Moseley, Macey Pickard, Willie Powell, Olivia Rigdon, Lindsay Smith, Christian Toole, Tiffany Yancey, and Ashley Youmans.

          The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service. PTK also provides an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Photo includes PTK President Haley Chester, PTK Vice President Julie Scott, and PTK Faculty Advisor Jessica Palumbo. Inductees not pictured are Edna Davalos, Haley Grace, Jasmine Hatch, Tyler Hooks, Cody Laurence, Elizabeth Marshall, and Megan Moseley. Not available for photo was PTK Statesboro Faculty Advisor Dr. Sandra Sharman.